Just another WordPress.com site

A book that has had a great influence on me is  Go Ask Alice. Beatrice Sparks is the listed author by the United States government but the actual owner of the diary is unknown. The book is fiction but when it first came out it was believed to be non-fiction. It is the story of an anonymous teenage girl with a low self-esteem who becomes addicted to drugs. 

      I read this book in my English class when I was a high school sophomore. Before we started reading the book we talked about different kinds of drugs and their effects. We also talked about how the book got it’s name. Everyone was curious where the name Alice came from, since the actual author is never said. We learned that the title is a line from the song White Rabbit by Jefferson Airplane.  The song is interpreted to be about the story Alice in Wonderland and mentions the use of drugs.

“One pill makes you larger
And one pill makes you small
And the ones that mother gives you
Don’t do anything at all
Go ask Alice
When she’s ten feet tall”

           I always knew how bad drugs are for you and to never try them, but I never felt more close to the drug world then when I read this poor girl’s story. She felt alone in the world and though nobody cared about her. Her depression led her to try drugs. Since the book is written in first person diary form every chapter I read was a new day in her life. I felt as if I was right next to her every step of the way. She became a close friend and I was truly devastated when she died at the end of the book. I truly understood the pain felt by family, friends, and the user herself.

         This book has made me more interested in the war on drugs and other crimes. I watch a lot of more crime shows on television, although not all relating to drugs.  (i.e. Law and Order: SVU, Criminal Minds). I have also become more aware of my surroundings and the people I meet everyday. I talked to my friends after reading this book and they informed me of a number of our fellow students who used extremely dangerous drugs-shocking news to me!

         I read a variety of books from all genres: mystery, action, romance; but none have impacted me like Go Ask Alice.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

