Just another WordPress.com site

Without you I am nothing

No, no, no this is not about some boyfriend that just dumped me! I am talking about the two days I went without the media-my one true love. I guess it’s true that you don’t know what you got until it’s gone.

Surprisingly, it is really difficult to avoid the media. It is EVERYWHERE!  The union has T.V.s on constantly, there are advertisements everywhere, and my alarm is a radio! But I turned it off and avoided eye contact with anything or anyone that looked like they could shove media in my face. For forty-eight hours I was an outcast.

Dictionary.com defines withdrawal as the period a drug addict goes through following abrupt termination in the use of narcotics, usually characterized by physical and mental symptoms. I guess media is my drug then because I went through serious withdrawal!

In class we discussed how people sometimes think they hear their cell phones ring or vibrate. I thought that was absurd and crazy, but sure enough I thought my phone was vibrating at least five times through out the day even though it was turned off. I even reached in my pocket to check my phone, forgetting I left it in my room!

Not listening to the radio or television really made my day a lot quieter. Sure I would hear people talking but it was not enough. By the afternoon I needed my “media fix”. I was like a dog looking for her next treat. But what really hurt the most was not being able to play Tetris and Words with Friends on Facebook.

I felt like I was in a documentary about children who don’t know what technology is. Sort of like an episode of MTV’s True Life. One thing I know I will be thankful for this Thanksgiving is the media. Hopefully something like this never happens to me!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

