Just another WordPress.com site

Media-oh what a word! It’s hard to believe that not too long ago people lived their everyday lives without checking their facebook newsfeed or “bbm-ed” their friends on their blackberries, A world where one did not update their twitter at least three times a day seems so barbaric to me!

These are just some of the world famous websites people-like myself- use daily.

For two consecutive days I became a “media junkie” (not that I wasn’t already). I wake up every morning to the media, my alarm clock is a radio. Usually, I hear a random part of a song and turn it off. Sometimes I feel that whatever song I hear determines the mood I am in for the whole day. For example, when I heard Colbie Caillet’s song “Realize” for a brief twenty seconds I felt more relaxed then the morning before when I heard Eminem’s song “Not Afraid” which mostly consists of screaming and cursing. I even added more media to my day and listened to my Ipod on my way to class. It really made the long walks more enjoyable!

While walking to class I saw signs for the upcoming homecoming game and the homecoming concert. I wasn’t too sure whether I should go or not but looking at all of the posters and advertisements in chock on the ground made me feel guilty for even thinking about not going!

The media also help’s me learn new things everyday! For example, on Saturday September 24th I saw GOOGLE was “Muppet Themed”. It was Jim Henson’s 75th birthday! I then decided to research about Jim Henson and the Muppet company (because finishing my math homework did not seem nearly as important) and I learned a lot of interesting facts.

What did I learn? The Muppets are a group of puppet characters created by Jim Henson starting in 1954. The word "Muppet" first appeared in 1956, and was said by Henson to have been created by combining the words "Marionette" and "puppet".

But media is not used just for entertainment purposes (well it is for me); it could also be used for business. My Dad must send at least twenty emails a day on his blackberry to his business partners and bosses to keep in contact with them. He, along with millions of other people in the same situation, have to be on their blackberries constantly to make sure they don’t miss anything important-or else it could ruin the company!

Where would we be today if it wasn’t for media? It is something we all rely on. Whether it is good or bad is the real argument.  I know one thing, my life would be an empty black hole if without it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

